What I want to be when I grow up

I have been getting the same question lately.

What I am going to do after I graduate?

I can certainly say I am uncertain. I can barely decide what I want to do with my life this week, let alone decide what my life will be like in a year. But they are right. I should start thinking about what I want to be when it is time to grow up.

Travel. Of course. Anyone could have guess that one. But there is more…

It was a late night, deep into the semester. Finals had almost passed and I was rewarding myself by hanging out with some friends.

After a few too many, our conversations became deeper. What did we want to do, who did we want to be?

I explained to one of the freshman there that I wanted to be a role model. I wanted to make a difference in one person’s life.

I told him that in each of my endeavors I planted seeds, hoping that one day these seeds would accomplish something. Maybe it is to remind a little girl in Peru that education is the most important thing in life. Maybe it is to remind a Senegalese women that Americans do care and we do understand her struggles. Maybe it is to remind my family members that family is forever, no matter where the world takes us. Maybe it is to remind students that college is the best 4 years of their lives. Maybe it is to remind a MUNer, why we MUN in the first place. The list goes on…

But regardless, I know what I want to do when I am older. I want to be an inspiration, someone people can look up to.

I know I am not perfect. I make mistakes just like everyone else. But if I can inspire one person, if I can change one person’s life for the better, I have realized my dream and that is more than I could ask for.

Quote of the day: “Travel makes you humble. You see what a tiny place you occupy in this world.”

One thought on “What I want to be when I grow up

Leave a Reply

