Why I travel

Have you ever felt trapped, like there is no place to go where you can feel raw, free, and truly independent?

Have you ever looked outside and thought there had to be something more to life than the same trees you see every day and the familiar faces you walk past each morning?

Have you ever stared at the sky so deep and hard, only to wish you had wings to fly away and possibly never come back?

Have you ever felt stuck in a routine, doing the same things over and over again with no sight of change or direction?

Have you ever been surrounded by so many people, yet your heart, mind, and soul were plagued with loneliness?

Have you ever looked at your belongings, knowing very well you have no problem giving them up, if it just meant freedom?

Well if you are anything like me, you have.

To me, traveling is that escape. It is about learning about myself, about others, and about life. It is my quest to find something greater, something extraordinary.

I travel to leave my grain of salt everywhere I go, to make an impact or to make a difference in someone’s life, to create a legacy or a path for those who think like me, and to change someone’s perspectives of the world outside their reach.

I travel to not only escape my reality, but also to live in the realities of the world: the poor, the luxurious, the urban, the rural, the known, and the unknown.

I travel to understand my place in the world—to find meaning to my life.

Why do you travel? (I invite you to share your answer in the comments section)

Quote of the day: “Travel far enough and you’ll meet yourself.”

Leave a Reply

