One year down…

Exactly one year ago I boarded my floating home, and now the current fall 17′ voyage is en route to Barcelona—perhaps my favorite city in the world. There is not a moment that goes by that my mind isn’t hazed by the memories of this 104 day journey.

I have said it before, but time on MV World Odyssey is magical: it is endless, yet over in a blink of an eye. I remember like it was yesterday, the day I met my best friend Ana (pictured above). I was sitting at the pool bar ordering some fries, when this Brazilian girl was sitting next to me. First words I said to her included something like “I love Brazilians.” I swore I had scared her away, yet here we are a year later closer than ever before.  I will forever hold these memories close to my heart.

Remembering for most is our coping mechanism. However for me, more-so than remembering it is evaluating the different person I have become as a result of the many lessons learned through this voyage. Traveling challenged me physically, mentally, socially, basically in every way. Now, I can look back with admiration at the person who I have become. There is much work to be done, but this is just the beginning.

Year one.

Quote of the day: “Wherever you are, be all there.”

Leave a Reply

